University of Minnesota
Department of Sociology
soc@umn.edu
612-624-4300


Department of Sociology's home page.

Faculty

Faculty
Name Contact Info Interest Areas
Abdi, Cawo
Assistant Professor
1146 Social Sciences
612-624-3714
cabdi@umn.edu
Migration; Gender, Race and Class; Family; Islam; Development Studies; Human Rights; Globalization; Africa; Middle East
Almquist, Zack
Assistant Professor
960 Social Sciences 612-624-1895
almquist@umn.edu
Social Network Analysis, Mathematical and Computational Sociology, Spatial Analysis, Demography, Public Health, Methodology, and Human Judgement and Decision Making
Aminzade, Ronald
Professor
1031 Social Sciences
612-624-9570
aminzade@umn.edu
Historical and Comparative; Political Sociology; Sociology of Development; Nationalism; Race Relations; Social Movements; Democratic Theory
Baer, Alejandro
Associate Professor
1133 Social Sciences
612-624-7548
abaer@umn.edu
Social Memory Studies, Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Sociology of Religion, Media and Communication, Antisemitism, Judaism, Qualitative Methods, Visual Sociology.
Bian, Yanjie
Professor
967 Social Sciences
612-624-9554
bianx001@umn.edu
Economic sociology; Social networks; Social stratification; Chinese society
Boyle, Elizabeth
Professor
909 Social Sciences
612-624-3343
boyle014@umn.edu
Sociology of Law; Globalization; Children's and Women's Rights
Broadbent, Jeffrey
Associate Professor
1026 Social Sciences
612-624-1828
broad001@umn.edu
Political Sociology; Environmental Sociology; Social Movements; Network Analysis; Discourse Analysis, Institutions and Culture; Cross-national Comparative Methods; Climate Change; Japan; East Asia; Field Work.
DeWaard, Jack Assistant Professor 1148 Social Science 612-624-9522 jdewaard@umn.edu International and Internal Migration; Assimilation and Integration; Demography and Ecology; Quantitative Methods.
Edgell, Penny
Professor
1039 Social Sciences
612-624-9828
edgell@umn.edu
Culture; Religion; Gender & Family; Symbolic Boundaries & Inequality
Ferrales, Gabrielle
Assistant Professor
1152 Social Sciences
612-624-5021
ferrales@umn.edu
Law and Society; Gender; Criminology and Criminal Justice; International Criminal Law; Quantitative and Qualitative Methods; Factorial Survey Methods for Empirical Analysis
Gerteis, Joseph
Associate Professor
1125 Social Sciences
612-624-1615
gerte004@umn.edu
Historical Sociology; Politics and Social Movements; Social Theory; Diversity and Solidarity in American Society
Goldman, Michael
Associate Professor
952 Social Sciences
612-624-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
Transnational, Political, and Environmental Sociology; Global Urbanization; Transnational Institutions of Finance, Development, & Expert Networks.
Gowan, Teresa
Associate Professor
1080 Social Sciences
612-626-1863
tgowan@umn.edu
Urban Sociology, Ethnography, Poverty and Inequality; Consumption; Alternative Economies
Hartmann, Douglas
Professor
835 Social Sciences
612-624-0835
hartm021@umn.edu
Race and Ethnicity; Sociology of Culture; Sport Studies; Social Movements and Social Change; American Society; Field Methods; Contemporary Theory
Hull, Kathleen
Associate Professor
1131 Social Sciences
612-624-4339
hull@umn.edu
Culture; Law; Social Movements; Family; Gender and Sexuality
Kelly, Erin
Professor
1014 Social Sciences
612-624-0228
kelly101@umn.edu
Organizations and Work; Gender; Family and Life Course; Law and Social Policy
Knoke, David
Professor
939 Social Sciences
612-624-6816
knoke001@umn.edu
Social Networks; Economic Sociology; Organizations and Work
Liebler, Carolyn
Assistant Professor
1135 Social Sciences
612-624-5506
liebler@umn.edu
Race and Ethnicity; Social Demography; Indigenous Peoples; Social Stratification; Sociology of the Family and Life Course; Social Support
Logan, Enid
Associate Professor
956 Social Sciences
612-624-3598
elogan@umn.edu
Blackness in the Americas, Contemporary U.S. Race Relations; Race & the Body, Race & Electoral Politics, Blacks and Social Class, Afro-Latin America
Malmquist, Carl
Professor
1174 Social Sciences
612-624-4147
malmq001@umn.edu
Juvenile Justice; Homicide; Adolescence; Law and Society; Law and the Mental Health System
Meier, Ann
Associate Professor
1127 Social Sciences
612-626-7230
meierann@umn.edu
Family and Life Course; Adolescent and Young Adult Development; Research Methods
Moen, Phyllis
Professor
1123 Social Sciences
612-625-5483
phylmoen@umn.edu
Work, Family, Health, Policy, Age and the Gendered Life Course
Mortimer, Jeylan
Professor
1014 Social Sciences
612-624-4064
morti002@umn.edu
The Life Course, Social Psychology, Work
Page, Joshua
Associate Professor
935 Social Sciences
612-624-9333
page@umn.edu
Crime, Law, Deviance, and Punishment; Labor and Unionization; Political Sociology; Qualitative Research Methods; Social Theory
Park, Lisa Sun-Hee
Professor
1035 Social Sciences
612-624-8563
lspark@umn.edu
Immigration and Welfare Policy; Immigrant Health Care; Race, Class, and Gender; Asian American Studies; Environmental Justice; Urban Theory and Methods
Pellow, David
Professor
1070 Social Sciences
612-624-5006
dpellow@umn.edu
Environmental Justice Studies; Racial and Ethnic Inequality; Transnational Social Movements; Qualitative Research Methods; Labor Studies; Immigration
Phelps, Michelle
Assistant Professor
1035 Social Sciences
612-626-0863
phelps@umn.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance; Inequality; Mixed Methods
Samaha, Joel
Professor
1033 Social Sciences
612-624-3529
jbs@umn.edu
Criminal Law and Procedure in U.S. Society; History of Criminal Justice
Savelsberg, Joachim
Professor
1144 Social Sciences
612-624-0273
savel001@umn.edu
Knowledge; Law, Crime & Punishment; Human Rights; Comparative; Theory
Schurman, Rachel
Professor
1078 Social Sciences
612-624-1039
schurman@umn.edu
Agri-food Studies, Political Sociology, Social Movements, Global Political Economy, Development/Post-Development Studies
Swartz, Teresa
Associate Professor
933 Social Sciences
612-626-1862
tswartz@umn.edu
Families; Intergenerational Relations; Social Inequality; Asian American Studies; Gender; Foster Care and Welfare State; Transitions to Adulthood; and Carework.
Uggen, Christopher
Professor
1167 Social Sciences
612-624-4016
uggen001@umn.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance; Life Course; Inequality; Methods
Warren, John "Rob"
Professor
1172 Social Sciences
612-624-2310
warre046@umn.edu
Social Inequality; Education; Health Disparities; Demography

Affiliated Faculty

Name Contact Info
Arthur, John
Professor, Sociology & Anthropology, UMD
jarthur@d.umn.edu
Brewer, Rose
Professor, African American & African Studies
brewe001@umn.edu
Call, Kathleen
Professor, School of Public Health
callx001@umn.edu
Feld, Barry
Professor, Law School
feldx001@umn.edu
Maahs, Jeffrey
Associate Professor, Sociology & Anthropology, UMD
jmaahs@d.umn.edu
McAlpine, Donna
Associate Professor, School of Public Health
mcalp004@umn.edu
Menanteau, Dario
Professor, School of Social Work
dmenante@umn.edu
Oakes, Michael
Associate Professor, School of Public Health
oakes007@umn.edu
Pierce, Jennifer
Professor, American Studies
pierc012@umn.edu
Roberts, Christopher
Associate Professor, Law School
cnr@umn.edu
Ruggles, Steven
Professor, History & Director, MN Population Center
ruggl001@umn.edu
Seashore, Karen
Professor, CEHD, Org. Leadership, Policy & Development
klouis@umn.edu
Shippee, Tetyana
Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
tshippee@umn.edu
Snyder, Mark
Professor, Psychology
msnyder@umn.edu
Soss, Joe
Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
jbsoss@umn.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Info
Anderson, Ronald
Professor Emeritus
rea@umn.edu
Fulton, Robert
Professor Emeritus
fulto001@umn.edu
Nelson, Joel
Professor Emeritus
nelso004@umn.edu
Reiss, Ira
Professor Emeritus
irareiss@comcast.net
Ward, David
Professor Emeritus
dward1144@aol.com

Links

Research Specialties

Faculty News

  • Kelly and Goldman Honored

    Erin Kelly will be honored as Scholar of the College and Michael Goldman as the recipient of the Arthur "Red" & Helene V. Motley Exemplary Teaching Award, at a reception on Tuesday, April 8th at 3:30 pm in the Best Buy Theater in Northrop Auditorium. RSVP

    March 18th, 2014
  • Ron Anderson Wins Grant for Retirees

    Professor Emeritus Ron Anderson received a Graduate School Professional Development Grant for Retirees, for help with his edited book, World Suffering and the Quality of Life (under contract with Springer). He has over 30 chapter authors from all over the world, including Yanjie Bian writing on suffering in China.

    March 18th, 2014

View Faculty News